Planning & Zoning Commission / Board of Adjustment

About Us

The Planning Commission, an advisory board to the City Council, consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by a majority vote of the Evanston City Council.

The Planning Commission is appointed by the Mayor and City Council to:

  • Review site plans
  • Make amendments to the Planning and Zoning Code and Comprehensive Plan
  • Establish design and development standards
Planning Commission actions carry over to the City Council meeting agendas for final approval by the City Council.

Meeting Schedule

The Planning Commission meets the first Monday of each month at 6 p.m. in the City Council Chambers, 1200 Main Street, Evanston, unless otherwise noted.

Notices of public meetings are posted on this website in the Planning and Development Calendar.

Agenda and Minutes of the Planning and Zoning Commission are also available on this website by visiting the Archive Center.

Planning Commission Members:

Maryl Thompson
Dave Huggins
Heath Beaudry
Kimberly Begalla 
Michael Day
Robert N. Smith
Rowdy Dean